Home NBA Boston Celtics

Boston Celtics

Boston Celtics is the basketball team that represents the city of Boston in the state of Massachusetts. He is in the Atlantic Division in the NBA. With 17 titles in the NBA, it is the team with the most championships along with the Los Angeles Lakers. He plays his matches at TD Garden in Boston city.

First years
The Boston Celtics were founded in 1946 as the Basketball Association of America (BAA) league team, one of the two leagues that prioritized the establishment of this league before the NBA was formed. Later, after this league united with the other team of the country, it became one of the first teams of the NBA. He had successful seasons under the leadership of his key player Bob Cousy.

Bill Russell era

Boston Celtics have won 11 titles in 13 seasons played by Bill Russell.
The team that added Bill Russell to its squad in 1956 achieved significant success under the leadership of this player. In the first season with Bill Russell, St. They beat Louis Hawks in 7 matches and won their first championship. The next season, in 1957, they faced the same team again and lost the final after 6 games. However, a period in league history began when no other team failed, and the Celtics won 8 consecutive championships from 1959. These successes began after a 4-0 win streak sweeping the Minneapolis Lakers in 1959. After a one-year hiatus in 1967, two more championships were won, again beating the Lakers in the finals in 1968 and 1969. Meanwhile, Arnold Auerbach, one of the most successful coaches in NBA history, retired after the championship in 1966 and Bill Russell took over the team. After the championship in 1969, Bill Russell retired and the glorious period was over.

Larry Bird era
After two years of new squad building, the Celtics entered the 1980s with a new squad with Larry Bird, Robert Parish and Kevin McHale, and they played 5 finals with this squad and won 3. The first championship in this period came in 1981. He played in the finals four times in a row between 1984 and 1987 and won two more championships in 1984 and 1986. During this period, there was a very ambitious competition with the Lakers for the second time. Another dimension of this rivalry was between Larry Bird and Magic Johnson.

Stagnation period
After this period, especially in the 1990s, the Celtics went to the conference final in the 2000/2001 season, but lost to the Indiana Pacers after 7 games in the final. The team had its worst season in its history in the 2006-2007 season and placed last at the Eastern Conference. However, Ray Allen and Kevin Garnett were brought to the team to be assertive in the NBA 2007-2008 season. With the contributions of these players, Boston managed to make it to the NBA final in the 2007-2008 season.

Modern times
As a result of his excellent final series, especially; With performances by Rajon Rondo, Kevin Garnett, Ray Allen, and Paul Pierce, they became the champions of the NBA 2007-2008 by beating the Los Angeles Lakers in a series like 4-2. Returning from 24 points when the series was 2-1, the Boston Celtics beat the Los Angeles Lakers 131-92 in the last game, opening the second biggest difference in the finals. The MVP of the finals was Paul Pierce, who won the match by playing injured in the first match and left his mark on each match.

In the 2008-2009 season, the Celtics, which were successful in the regular season, broke the record for the best season start in NBA history by starting a season with 27-2. They drew a 62-20 chart and finished the Eastern Conference 2nd after the Cleveland Cavaliers. However, they lost 2 matches to the Lakers, which they eliminated in the finals last season, and they could not put a resistant stance to the Orlando Magic and the Cleveland Cavaliers, who were tough opponents for him in the play offs.

Although they managed to eliminate the Chicago Bulls in 7 matches, all of which went into overtime, in the play offs, they were eliminated in 7 games in the semifinals.

They spent the 2009-2010 season with a performance far from last season. With a chart of 50-32, the Celtics finished the regular season 4th after Cavaliers, Magic and Hawks. Although it is stated that some unrest within the team caused this, the constellations were really far from what was expected of them; Except for Rajon Rondo. There is no doubt that the Celtics guard was the name to support his team this season. In the playoffs, they reached the semi-finals by beating the Miami Heat 4-1 in the first round, except for Dwyane Wade scoring 46 points. In the semi-finals, they were matched with the Cleveland Cavaliers, the team of play-offs favorite super star Lebron James. They passed this series 4-2 and faced Orlando Magic in the conference final. They took the series 4-2 and became the Eastern Conference champions and reached the finals. In the final, they faced the Western Conference champion Los Angeles Lakers. In Series 2-2, they managed to make 3-2, but Kendrick Perkins’ injury took a toll on the team and lost to the Lakers, the series was 3-3. The 7th game in which the winner will be the champion was to be played in Los Angeles. Boston Celtics started the game very well and managed to enter the 3rd period with 13 points. With five minutes to the end of the match, Lakers’ superstar Kobe Bryant suddenly recovered, the Lakers took the lead and the Los Angeles Lakers won the championship. This was the Lakers’ 16th NBA title.

The Celtics started the 2010-2011 season with the support of Shaquille O’Neal and Turkish basketball player Semih Erden. Shaq and Semih injured most of the season


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment - Shop at Zappos!

Most Popular

Why Amazon Can’t Buy the James Bond Series?

Amazon is in tight bargaining with James Bond's rightful company MGM (Metro Goldwyn Mayer) to broadcast it on its platform Prime Video,...

Cult Painting Summarizing the American Rural in a Single Frame: American Gothic

The 1930 painting Grant Wood is one of the most parodyed paintings to date. Here are some interesting notes on the...

Interesting Taschen Books

Taschen books are among the books that many book lovers can't wait to see in their libraries. Most Taschen books have become...

Emperor Akihito

Akihito (Japanese: 明仁, tag Tsugu-no Miya / 継 宮, period name Heisei / 平 成, born 23 November 1933) is the former...

Recent Comments